National registration standards approved

The Australian Health Workforce Ministerial Council has approved national registration standards and other National Board proposals.

Mandatory registration standards that will apply to all health practitioners registered under the national scheme as well as Board-specific registration standards have been signed off by the Australian Health Workforce Ministerial Council.

For nursing and midwifery this includes:

  • the five mandatory registration standards:
    • criminal history,
    • English language,
    • professional indemnity insurance,
    • continuing professional development, and
    • recency of practice.
  • Endorsement for nursing practitioners.
  • Endorsement for scheduled medicines (RNs) for rural and isolated practice.

The Ministerial Council is still deciding on accreditation standards and codes and guidelines for nursing and midwifery.

The Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia (NMBA) has now released its draft proposal on the registration standard for endorsement of eligible midwives. The Board has also prepared a draft guide on eligibility requirements and qualifications required for a registered midwife to be endorsed under the Health Practitioner Regulation National Law Act 2009 as an ‘eligible midwife’.

The NSWNA is also still waiting on notification of transition arrangements.


The NMBA will be writing to every nurse and midwife currently registered to advise you of your registration type from 1 July 2010 and the process for transition into the new scheme. It is critical that your contact details with the Nurses and Midwives Board of NSW are correct.

Nurses and midwives are asked to check this letter carefully and provide any feedback about incorrect information to the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency. Contact details for the agency will be provided in the letter.